Bachauer concert series
Session 114
Concert PlayLiszt

Streaming Watch Party

March 31 at 7 pm MDT


Streaming On Demand

March 31 through May 31


Ching-Yun Hu

Hailed by Philadelphia Inquirer as a “first-class talent” and with International Piano Magazine claims that “praises follow her around the world“, Taiwanese-American pianist Ching-Yun Hu is recognized and acclaimed worldwide for her dazzling technique, deeply probing musicality, and directly communicative performance style. Her distinguished and multi-faceted concert career has taken her to five continents after winning the top prizes at the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Competition in Tel Aviv and the Concerts Artists Guild Competition in New York.

Ching-Yun made her concerto debut at the age 13 on a tour in Japan and Taiwan. She made her Aspen Music Festival debut at age 16, playing Prokofiev Concerto No. 3. A year later, she performed the Grieg Piano Concerto to a sold-out house with the Philadelphia Orchestra. After her successful Lincoln Center recital debut at Alice Tully Hall in 2007, she has continued to perform at prestigious concert halls and music festivals across the globe.

Ching-Yun performs eclectic programming each season, ranging from standard repertoire to world premieres. Aside from regularly performing piano concerti of Mozart, Beethoven, Chopin, Rachmaninoff, and Prokofiev, she gave the world premiere of “Red Cliff” Piano Concerto by Yiu-Kwong Chung, with the Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia at the Kimmel Center. The performance was followed by the concerto’s Asia Premiere at the National Concert Hall in Taipei with Chung himself conducting. Considered a star pianist in Asia, Ching-Yun curates an ambitious and ongoing recital project titled “Ching-Yun’s Four Classical Seasons”, performing four distinctive recital programs in over 30 cities worldwide.

Ching-Yun Hu is a Steinway Artist.
Franz Liszt

Les jeux d’ eaux à la Villa d’Este (The Fountains of the Villa d’Este), from Années de pèlerinage


Six Lieder Transcriptions

“Ständchen von Shakespeare”
“Leise flehen meine Lieder”
“Auf dem Wasser zu Singen”
“Ave Maria”
(original lieder by Franz Schubert)
(original lieder by Robert Schumann)


Three Concert Études (Trois études de concert)

Il lamento
La leggierrezza
Un sospiro


Spanish Rhapsody

Share With Your Audience

Upcoming Concerts

Mar 10, 2023
Concert Series
Changyong Shin
Apr 29, 2023
Concert Series
Olga Kern
Dec 1, 2022
Concert Series
Music Is a Gift!
Please sign-up for our newsletter to be informed of our upcoming season.
Proudly sponsored by
The only thing missing is dough.